Pope Francis and Caravaggio (from Italian Insider)

THE CALLING OF ST MATTHEW

NAPLES, FLORIDA – Pope Francis said, “That finger of Jesus, pointing at Matthew. That’s me. I feel like him. Like Matthew. It is the gesture of Matthew that strikes me: he holds on to his money as if to say, ‘No, not me! No, this money is mine.’ Here, this is me, a sinner on whom the Lord has turned his gaze. And this is what I said when they asked me if I would accept my election as pontiff.”

These words are from: Pope Francis, interview with Father Antonio Spadaro, S.J., editor in chief of La Civiltà Cattolica, the Italian Jesuit journal, released on September 19 in answer to the question
“Who is Jorge Mario Bergoglio now [Pope Francis]?”http://www.americamagazine.org/pope-interview
This interview has immediately provoked considerable public controversy. The pope mentioned Caravaggio three times in the extensive, … READ THE FULL ARTICLE HERE
Leave a Reply

